Proficiency guidelines

Type of document:
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages
The ACTFL Proficiency Guidelines contain descriptions of different levels of language proficiency identified by the American Council for the Teaching of Foreign Languages, based on the five levels originally defined by the US Foreign Service Institute. ACTFL provides a detailed description of the kinds of communication functions, range of vocabulary, degree of accuracy and flexibility that learners of a language are able to control at different levels in each of the four major language skills (listening, speaking, reading and writing). These descriptions can be helpful in setting language learning goals, in planning learning activities and in evaluating proficiency.
Workflow stage:
Business value:
Web site:

Send feedback or questions to: